Riva Starr on Pete Tong’s BBC Radio 1 show

Posted on October 1, 2008

0


AUDIO: LISTEN HERE

One of the perks of my job is that I get to sit at my computer with my headphones on. The assumption is that I’m quietly editing away packages of breaking news that come to me via the news wires.

In reality I’m actually plugged into the BBC iPlayer, YouTube, Last fm or Blip.fm (i’m delicious) listening to the latest tunes around.

One of my must have shows is Pete Tong’s Friday night dance music show that religiously welcomes me into the weekend every fortnight.

Only problem is that I’m sitting here pretending to cut packages on the Senate vote on the bail-out of the US economy when the most ridiculous track comes on. The base is so heavy I can’t help but let out a squeal of excitement.

The media managers gave me an odd look but I have to share this discovery. Check out track 11 on the mix I’ve posted above. Rockafella Starr is a sick remix of an old Fatboy Slim tune.

Riva Starr is definitely a name to watch. Details to follow on where he’s spinning next…

Posted in: music