Thomas Pynchon’s new book

Posted on February 6, 2009

0


Pynchon Inherent Vice

This posting about Thomas Pynchon’s new book entitled Inherent Vice is worth a mention, and not just because of the achingly cool title. Pynchon reminds me of the days when my brain was fresh and active.

I remember penning my A-level English dissertation, comparing and contrasting Pynchon’s Gravity’s Rainbow with William S Burrough’s Cities of the Red Night in the context of Marshall McLuhan’s famous quote – “the medium is the message”.

(Yes I was a pretentious little prick back then but I got an A* for it).

Without a doubt Gravity’s Rainbow changed my life. It quite possibly is a hoax but anyone who’s read the tome from start to finish can’t fail to be bowled over by the cranium-splitting beauty of Pynchon’s masterpiece.

Posted in: art, culture