Hudson Mohawke’s Overnight

Posted on February 10, 2009

0


I’ve been wanting to blog about this producer for ages, in fact since the first time I heard Benji B play Overnight  on his Deviation show on BBC 1Xtra.

Hudson Mohawke’s style  is simultaneously dirty and delicious. It’s been labelled ghetto tech, which sounds perfectly fine to me. When you hear the dark, bassy flows you can totally imagine some genius holed up in a room in the wrong side of Detroit.

So it was a bit of a surprise when I logged on to his MySpace page to find that actually Hudson Mohawke is a young white guy from Glasgow. It’s amazing the amount of shit hot electronic that comes out of that city. I really should go back and pay a visit sometime soon.

If you fancy checking out Mr Mohawke in action, he’ll be playing at Plastic People on Thursday 5 March.

Posted in: Uncategorized