An open invitation – journalism’s new futures

Posted on May 11, 2009

0


For the past year and a half I’ve been running a (more or less) monthly session where I gather together hot young talent working at the top levels of British journalism. The sessions are made up of journalists, producers and editors working in print, radio, television and online.

The ‘gatherings’ have ground to a halt after a got a little bit deluded by the sense that they’d turned into talking shops rather than the sort of events that inspired people to make a difference.

But I think I’m going to resurrect the concept later this month (venue in central London TBC) . All the doom and gloom that dominates the papers is really getting to me. There has to be another way or at least a more efficient way of fighting the decline in journalism that the commentators seem to be saying is inevitable.

So here’s an open invitation to the next event – let me know if you’re interested in coming along

Howdy all,

You’ve probably noticed that things have been a bit quite on the Gonzo front.

I got to the point where I felt it was time to stop talking and start doing but recent developments have me thinking the sessions should be resurrected (albeit in a slightly different format).

It seems like everything journalism related, from the events I’m attending, to the articles I’m reading to chats I’m having, is imbued with an impending sense of doom.

How about having a get together to brainstorm about positive outcomes in this seemingly gloomy environment?

This could take the form of anything from great story ideas that you might want to collaborate on, good places to pitch to if you’re looking to freelance viable alternatives to working for mainstream media organisations etc.

I’m imagining it as an event which by the end of it might just help us all to do something rather than just feeling like we’ve had a good debating session.

What do you think?

xZ

Posted in: media