London protests Trayvon Martin killing

Posted on March 28, 2012

1


It’s been almost a decade since I protested on the streets. For all of my mouthing off I rarely take the time to match my words with actions. The Iraq War protest was the last time I picked up a placard and this coming Saturday 31 March will be the next.

The killing of Trayvon Martin has sickened me. Perhaps because I first read about it in a heart-breakingly beautiful article by Charles M. Blow in the New York Times. Perhaps because I’m the mother of a 16-month-old boy who’s has American citizenship and I wonder if he could be next.

I’d like to think it’s just because I think the value of human life deserves to be respected and the failure to uphold this, first on an individual level and secondly on a legal level is barbaric.

If you feel the same and happen to be in London this Saturday come join the protest:

Saturday 31st March, 1.30pm-4pm, American Embassy, 24 Grovesnor Square.  

Posted in: Uncategorized