Randi Zuckerberg: on the dilemmas of digitally responsible parenting

Posted on April 12, 2013

0


Randi Zuckerberg: on the dilemmas of digitally responsible parenting

Mashable has this thought-provoking piece by Randi Zuckerberg (you see, I resisted the temptation to describe her as Mark’s sister) on the importance of unplugged parenting.#

As someone who grew up in a house without a TV I have huge amounts of guilt at the amount of CBeebies I let my son watch and don’t think it’s cool that he knows how to use a touchscreen phone and already has his favourite apps at the tender age of 2 years old.

I also try to respect his online privacy – if he wants to bore everyone with inane details about his life he can do that, when he’s old enough. But I’d like to get to arrive at that point with as clean a digital footprint as possible so I keep my facebook and youtube posting about him to a minimum.

In this hyper-connected era , privacy is a valuable commodity!

Posted in: Uncategorized