Start a new blog or rename an old one?

Posted on May 1, 2013

0


I need to start a new blog. Or at least that what my gut instinct tells me. My urge to create new blog sites as I reach new stages of my life is so strong it feels almost primitive. But it obviously can’t be. Yet I’m sure I posted somewhere that my autobiography would be called “And they shall know me by the trail of my blogs”. It’s a rather lame rip-off of but the fact that I can’t remember which blog I posted it on is indicative of my problem.

So as I come to the end of my postgraduate studies and get ready to re-enter normality (the non-academic world) it feels like my interest and focus as shifted… yes, again. I can’t bear to read over all of my five years worth of content and hopefully you won’t want to do that either but there has definitely been an evolution from the pop-culture, media obsessed angst-ridden posts that I poured out in my late twenties.

Your response has been far more interesting than anything I’ve written. Who would have thought comment (291 of them to be precise) would still be raging on the racism in Italy piece almost half a decade since I posted it! A big thank you to all of you who took the time to share your experiences, thoughts and insults. I hope it was a useful content and please do keep the conversation going.

But for me I’m returning to me roots, so to speak. I started off in journalism because I wanted to make a difference. Somewhere between wanting to run off and join the Cuba Solidarity Campaign and the election of New Labour (yes I am that old) I fell down a rabbit hole that led me into a world of media luvvies, fashionistas, rock n roll superstars and lots and lots of money. Which wasn’t a bad thing. I met some great people along the way and have some pretty bizarre stories to tell.

Moving things along I want to cite a line from a movie that was so uncool that I’m almost too embarrassed to mention it here. But I quoted from it in the eulogy I gave at my mother’s funeral two years ago, so I guess it can’t have been that bad. There’s a line in The Bucket List (yes, I know but please keep you snooty comments to yourself 😉 where Morgan Freeman’s character says to Jack Nicholson’s:

“You know, the ancient Egyptians had a beautiful belief about death. When their souls got to the entrance to heaven, the guards asked two questions.  Their answers determined whether they were able to enter or not.  ‘Have you found joy in your life?’  ‘Has your life brought joy to others?’”

Well pre-empting that question the balance in my life is unsatisfyingly tipped towards the personal pleasure side of the scales. The fact that I’m now mother to a darling little boy is probably the greatest driver I’ll ever have to do my bit to create a better world. And while I’ve loved studying African government and politics as part of my postgraduate degree the fact is that there is a hell of a lot of need for change to be made in Grenada, the island my family originates from and in the wider Caribbean.

So to go back to the original question (you’ll note that my tendency to wonder off from the point hasn’t improved much) I’ve decided not to start a new blog but to re-angle this one in the hope that you’ll stick with me on the journey. Thanks for sticking with me this far and I look forward to the next phase.

Posted in: Development